← Back to listing

Zara Katz & Lisa Riordan Seville

Photographs by Zora J. Murff

Women on the Outside, 2015–ongoing

When someone is incarcerated, female family members often pick up the pieces. But the financial and emotional strain of having loved ones behind bars can take a toll upon the women on the outside. Long distances also make it hard for them to visit their loved ones. It’s often more than a three-hour drive each way.
One of those families is that of 28-year-old Kristal Bush. When she was 3 years old, her father went to prison. Her cousins, brothers, friends and lovers followed. Six years ago, Kristal founded “Bridging the Gap,” a van service that transports people from Philadelphia to faraway prisons for visits.
With their ongoing multimedia project “Women on the Outside,” Lisa Riordan Seville (1984), independent investigative reporter and Zara Katz (1984), producer of editorials and documentaries offer a glimpse into the lives of a group of women on the outside, trying to stay connected to loved ones behind bars.

← Zurück zu allen Fotografen

Zara Katz & Lisa Riordan Seville

Photographs by Zora J. Murff

Women on the Outside, 2015–ongoing

Wenn jemand inhaftiert wird, sind es oft die weiblichen Familienmitglieder, die den Familienverband aufrechterhalten. Die finanzielle und emotionale Belastung geliebte Angehörige hinter Gittern zu haben, fordert seinen Tribut von diesen Frauen. Auch lange Fahrstrecken machen es schwer für sie ihre Lieben zu besuchen, da die Gefängnisse oft mehr als drei Stunden von den Städten entfernt sind.

Die 28-jährige Kristal Bush kommt aus einer dieser Familien. Als sie 3 Jahre alt war, ging ihr Vater ins Gefängnis. Ihre Cousins, Brüder, Freunde und Liebhaber folgten. Vor sechs Jahren gründete Kristal „Bridging the Gap“, einen Van-Service, der Menschen für ihre Besuche von Philadelphia zu entlegenen Gefängnissen transportiert.

 Lisa Riordan Sevilla (1984), freie investigative Journalistin und Zara Katz (1984), Produzentin für Editorials und Dokumentationen bieten mit ihrem fortlaufenden Multimediaprojekt „Women on the Outside“ einen Einblick in das Leben dieser Frauen, die versuchen mit ihren Lieben hinter Gittern verbunden zu bleiben .