← Back to listing

Andrea Ellen Reed: When Living is a Protest

Artist Andrea Ellen Reed in a talk with journalist Pia Dangelmayer.

Lothringer13 Halle

In 2015, as a direct response to the race riots in Baltimore and Ferguson that errupted after black unarmed men were shot by the police, Andrea Ellen Reed produced her video Unsighted. We see her face, reacting to the media coverage about the protests and growing racial tension in the USA. Not so much a self portrait, in this video Andrea is a protagonist of the black community - she is the face of those who are being talked about. Her work is a silent comment, as well as a loud protest.
In her project The Streets Are Talkin', she also focuses on a community at a confluent tipping point of race and injustice as explored through photography and sound (like Ruddy Roye in his series When Living is a Protest, which gave the title for this talk). In 2017 Andrea Ellen Reed won the Visionary Award from the Tim Hetherington Trust for Unsighted.

Pia Dangelmayer was a reporting fellow for the NYC based ProPublica and part of a journalist team that won the Pulitzer Prize 2017 for Public Service. She now works in the dedicated BR research team in Munich and will discuss with Andrea about life as a protest.

← Zurück zum Programm

Andrea Ellen Reed: When Living is a Protest

Künstlerin Andrea Ellen Reed im Gespräch mit Journalistin Pia Dangelmayer.

Lothringer13 Halle

Als direkte Antwort auf die Rassenunruhe in Baltimore und Ferguson, die 2015 ausbrachen, nachdem schwarze, unbewaffnete Männer von der Polizei erschossen wurden, produzierte Andrea Ellen Reed ihr Video Unsighted. Wir sehen ihr Gesicht und ihre Reaktionen auf die Medienberichterstattung über die Proteste und die zunehmenden Rassenspannungen in den USA. Weniger ein Selbstporträt, wird Andrea in diesem Video zu einer Protagonistin der schwarzen Gemeinde - sie ist das Gesicht derjenigen, über die gesprochen wird. Ihre Arbeit ist ein stiller Kommentar und ein lauter Protest.
Auch in ihrem Projekt The Streets Are Talkin' konzentriert sie sich (wie Ruddy Roye in seiner titelgebenden Serie When Living is a Protest) auf eine Gemeinschaft an einem Wendepunkt rassistischer Ungerechtigkeiten, den sie durch Fotografie und Ton erforscht. Im Jahr 2017 erhielt Andrea Ellen Reed den Visionary Award des Tim Hetherington Trust für Unsighted.

Pia Dangelmayer war journalistische Mitarbeiterin bei der NYC-basierten ProPublica und Teil eines Journalistenteams, das den Pulitzer-Preis 2017 für Dienst an der Öffentlichkeit gewann. Aktuell ist sie im engagierten BR-Forschungsteam in München tätig und diskutiert mit Andrea über das Leben als Protest.